Oven Roasted Herb chicken with Balsamic potatoes and carrots

I was lucky enough to spend a weekend with Justine and Sue of Les Farm learning how to Process/Butcher chickens. As a thank you gift They gave me a whole chicken(The second largest one they processed) as well the skinned carcass of the last chicken that had the breast and wings removed which I brought to make stock but it still had the drumsticks and thighs on it. I also came home with ALL of the hearts and gizzards which I am going to make stew with but that is a future post. This meal was absolutely delicious and I decided to share it.

I tried as much as I could to only use ingredients from my garden or friends gardens.

I used a green onion from my herb garden

DSC_0193

On a lark I decided to try digging in my potato patch thinking there was no way that it would yield anything and It was full of baby potatoes so I decided to use some to make Balsamic potatoes!

DSC_0195

And the gorgeous chicken that I helped Process/butcher

DSC_0199

Herbs freshly picked from my garden(Basil and Thyme)

DSC_0202

The first thing I did was melt 2 tbsp of butter then I chopped up 1/2 a tsp of fresh thyme and basil as well as some sage(Sadly my Parsley smothered my sage so I had to use powdered sage), I chopped up two garlic cloves and added that as well as a pinch of salt and pepper.

DSC_0205

I took a brush and liberally painted both sides of the chicken and placed it in the pre-heated oven at 350FDSC_0208

While that started cooking I chopped up some carrot and the potatoes and got my main ingredients ready (Balsamic vinegar and oil) I placed all the ingredients in a ziplock bag then added a quarter cup of oil and half a cup of balsamic vinegar as well as a tsp of thyme and salt and pepper to taste.DSC_0209

zip it up and shake well.

DSC_0210

I then took the chicken out and placed the potatoes onto the pan to finish cooking with the chicken(40 minutes or so)DSC_0211

Look at my beautiful new to me oven! I don’t care that its not super fancy it WORKS and its super clean. And by work I mean all of the burners, the timer, the clock AND the oven! It also doesn’t fit where the previous oven was and my large cookie sheets don’t fit into it but I don’t care because AT LEAST I can bake! DSC_0212

Once everything is done Plate up cut some chives and sprinkle and take some of the drippings you have left that mixed with the balsamic vinegar(We didn’t have much) and gently pour over top and Bon Appetit!

DSC_0218

I love comments! Please Leave a Reply!

