Chickens, bucks and kittens Oh My!

One of our friends had mentioned a few times before that he had a buck that he would be willing to loan us out and a week ago he came over and brought Mr Chico over to stud for our girls and they also surprised us with two Silkie polish crosses and a gorgeous little bantam rooster and they brought a carrier with five kittens we could pick a kitten from for our barn.

Here are the chickens free ranging next to the barn. The rooster is quite the character and I love his shrill little crow

DSC_0012

Here is Chico the buck. He is quite the friendly guy but boy does he smell! My husband says he isn’t that bad but I can barely be in the barn since hes been here. Although I like him I am looking forward to giving him back.

DSC_0034

Last but not least is our new barn kitten. Names welcome! We haven’t decided on one yet but she is a super sweet little girl and has settled in very well. She likes to sleep on our hay bales and loves to follow us around as we do chores

DSC_0060

DSC_0072

My husband and the little cat bonding

DSC_0090

One of our friends said she was too friendly to be a barn cat. My opinion is I would rather a friendly barn cat so long as she still eats mice and rats for us!

DSC_0093

Hope you enjoyed the photos. I am looking forward to having some milk and with a barn cat I can give her the first squirts of milk instead of throwing them out!

I love comments! Please Leave a Reply!

