Strawberry Picking Adventure with Mom

So my mom and I left early this morning to go Strawberry Picking. I would like to suggest NOT to go Strawberry picking when you’ve only managed to fall asleep at 5:30 AM because you work late then wake up at 7:30 to get ready to head out! We had a great time but were in a rush as my mother works for a kids camp and had to get to work early. I didnt get to fill my bucket up but got it half full which was good. We are going back next week which I’m excited to get more Strawberries.

This was their gorgeous Canola field in front of the Strawberry fields. I wish I could have captured how deep yellow the field was!

DSC_0469

Strawberry fields with a few people already picking

DSC_0470 DSC_0471

My mothers Berries. Good Job mom!

DSC_0472

My bucket. i didn’t do half bad. Especially since I am anemic and get light headed when I’m crouched down for long periods of time(Let me just say that it is hell to rasp my horses hooves ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

DSC_0473

DSC_0474

I know for Americans this price would probably be considered expensive. over here this was an amazing price for good quality berries.

DSC_0475

The owner of the U-pick She is the cutest woman ever. Originally from Holland. Very friendly and great service ๐Ÿ™‚

DSC_0476

I am so sad she came out blurry in this photo as this was something important to her. She promotes Haskap berried which are full of anti-oxidants. They have a nice slightly bitter taste to them. I bought a quart of them and Will be making some Jam with it.

DSC_0477

Finally home. Took a nap for a few hours then proceeded to get these delectable berries ready for the freezer so I can make jam with them later on when I have time.

DSC_0478

DSC_0479

The tops of the Strawberries. I wonder what I am going to do with them…

DSC_0480

That’s right. Chicken treats! They go crazy for them.

DSC_0482 DSC_0493

They are all ready and I am not putting them on cookie sheets to freeze in the freezer and deep freeze

DSC_0495 DSC_0496

Ready to freeze. Once their frozen solid I transfer them to plastic bags and back in the fridge they do untill Im ready to Jam

DSC_0497

Hope you all enjoyed the photos of our little outing. I look forward to going again next week!

I love comments! Please Leave a Reply!

